Welcome to USAF


Creating an environment where universities in South Africa thrive and succeed

Who We Are


Universities South Africa was also refocused and rebranded in keeping with international conventions for similar organisations. To that end, this association will strengthen and enhance the work started by HESA, established in 2005, with the merger of the South African Universities Vice-Chancellors Association and the Committee of Technikon Principals.

Click here to read more

Our Purpose


Through lobbying and advocacy, we promote and facilitate optimum conditions for our universities to operate effectively and contribute to the social, cultural and economic development of our country. We are a non-profit, non-statutory, voluntary and membership association.

Click here to read more

Our Mandate

Influence and contribute to policy positions regarding higher education;

Advocate and campaign for an adequately funded university sector

Facilitate effective dialogue among universities, government, business, parliament and other stakeholders on issues affecting universities;

Co-ordinate sector-wide engagement on major issues (e.g. transformation, differentiation, internationalisation, etc.);

Commission and disseminate research on key issues with implications for universities;

Provide value-adding services to member institutions;

Speak on behalf of universities on major issues with implications for their well-being;

Strengthen the creation of a Higher Education Governance System based on the principles of cooperative governance, institutional autonomy and academic freedom.



Connect with Us

On Fri 18 Nov, the USAf Office relocates from UNISA Sunnyside to the 1st floor,Blocks D&E, Hadefields Office Park,1267 Pretorius St, PTA.

On Friday 18 November, the USAf Office will relocate from Buildings 1 & 3, UNISA Sunnyside Campus to the 1st floor, Blocks D & E, Hadefields Office Park, at 1267 Pretorius Street, Hatfield, Pretoria. To facilitate this move the offices of the Matriculation Board will be closed for walk-ins from Monday 14 November to Friday 25 November 2016. Please use the online exemption application portal during this period.