Universities South Africa performs its functions at various levels: at the macro level through its governance structures such as the Board of Directors, Executive Committee and Advisory Structures. At the micro level, Universities South Africa functions through an office located in Pretoria.

Representatives of South Africa’s public universities play a vital role in the governance structures of Universities South Africa. Here they contribute to the sound, transparent and effective functioning of the organisation.

Audit and Risk Committee

This committee reviews the integrity of all major risks and internal control systems. It oversees:

  • Financial reporting;
  • Systems of internal control and management of financial risk; and
  • Processes of audit and monitoring compliance with financial laws and regulations

Prof Divya Singh – Chairperson – University of South Africa
Prof Ahmed Bawa – Durban University of Technology
Mr Shai Makgoba – University of Cape Town
Ms Faiza Majiet – Stellenbosch University
Mr Jaco Van Schoor – University of Johannesburg

Finance and Investment Committee

This committee oversees Universities South Africa’s financial strategy and policy and the establishment and performance of internal controls at the office’s operational level. It also ensures overall compliance with the investment strategy as approved by the Board.

Prof Ahmed C Bawa – Chairperson – Durban University of Technology
Dr Doeke Tromp – Independent Consultant
Mr Manie Regal – University of the Western Cape
Ms Vuyokazi Memani-Sedile – University of South Africa
Universities South Africa CEO as ex officio member

Human Resources and Remuneration Committee

This committee oversees Universities South Africa’s HR strategy and policy. Its responsibilities are to:

  • Establish and maintain policy for competitive, fair, equitable and market-related compensation policies;
  • Plan to attract, motivate and retain talent;
  • Review annual remuneration packages of Universities South Africa employees and recommends adjustments where necessary; and
  • Advise the Board on any human resources related matters within the Universities South Africa Office.

Prof Mahlo Mokgalong – Chairperson – University of Limpopo
Ms Amanda Glaeser – University of the Western Cape
Ms Patience Mushungwa – University of Pretoria
Prof Tobie de Coning – Stellenbosch University
Mr Victor Mothobi – North West University
Universities South Africa CEO as ex officio member

Admissions Committee and Matriculation Board

This is the only committee with a statutory function. This Committee advises not only the Board but also the Minister of Higher Education and Training on the regulation of minimum requirements for admission into higher education.

Its responsibilities are to:

Develop and maintain optimal strategies of admissions regulation in the transition period between the current Senior Certificate and the future National Senior Certificate;
Monitor and report on system readiness, enrolment trends, policies and ‘best practice’ benchmarking and equivalence setting activities;
Approve the budget and annual financial statements of the Universities South Africa Higher Education and Enrolment Programme; and
Recommend exemption certification application fees to the Board for approval.
Prof Peter Mbati – Chairperson, Admissions Committee – University of Venda
Mr Hugh Amoore – Acting Chairperson, Matriculation Board – University of Cape Town
Prof Sarah Howie – University of Pretoria
Dr Dan Mokoena – Vaal University of Technology
Prof Divya Singh – University of South Africa
Prof Cheryl Foxcroft – Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Prof Gordon Zide – Vaal University of Technology
Dr Gift Metsu Vinger – University of Zululand
Ms Carol Crosley – University of the Witwatersrand
Prof Teru Pillay – ex officio member representing the South African Technology Network (SATN);
Dr Mafu Rakometsi – ex officio member representing the Council for Quality Assurance in General and Further Education and Training (UMALUSI);
Universities South Africa CEO as ex officio member.

Legal Advisory Committee

In addition to the above Governance Committees, the Board constituted a Legal Advisory Committee whose purpose it is to provide legal advice and/or input to Universities South Africa to respond to legislation, regulations and policies affecting the university sector. The Committee reviews the legislation and policies with implications for the universities sector, and provides inputs and comments to the organisation in order to enable the latter to effectively promote the interests of the sector and fulfill advocacy and related responsibilities.

Prof Niek Grové – Chairperson – University of Pretoria
Mr Hugh Amoore – University of Cape Town
Prof Divya Singh – University of South Africa
Prof Patrick O’Brien – University of Johannesburg
Mr Shervaan Rajie – University of the Western Cape
Mr Gerhard Lipp – Stellenbosch University
Mr James Botha – North-West University
Mr Nkosi Bhula – Vaal University of Technology