South Africa’s 26 public universities are all members of Universities South Africa. They are distributed within all nine provinces of South Africa. Each province has at least one university, with Mpumalanga and the Northern Cape provinces having just acquired their own institutions during 2014/2015.

Provinces which house the three main metropolitan centres, namely KwaZulu-Natal, Gauteng and the Western Cape, are home to the largest number of universities.

See the map below for the geographic spread of universities in South Africa.