The Board of Universities South Africa comprises the 26 Vice-Chancellors of our member universities. The Board is responsible for our strategic direction as an organisation. They ensure the sustainability of the organisation and that we adhere to the required governance practices. The Board shapes and approves policies and our position on higher education matters.

The Chairperson of the board is elected for a period of two years.

Current Chairperson: Professor Adam Habib (Jan 2014 – Dec 2015; now elected on for a second term effective Jan 2016 – Dec 2017)

The Board meets three times per year.